The Florida Center for Investigative Reporting won three journalism awards in the Florida Society of News Editors’ contest. FCIR competed in Division C with newspapers whose daily circulations are under 50,000.

Freelance reporter Thomas Francis and FCIR Associate Directors Trevor Aaronson and Mc Nelly Torres won second place in multimedia for “Fiscal Duplicity” and its interactive map of Congressional lettermarks. The Villages Daily Sun took first place in the category and the Ocala Star Banner placed third.

Mc Nelly Torres won third place in investigative reporting for “Virtually Worthless,” which examined for-profit virtual high schools. Hernando Today took first and second place in the category.

FCIR reporter/blogger Ralph De La Cruz won third place in blog/online commentary. First place went to Bob Gabordi of the Tallahassee Democrat and second place to Nathan Crabbe of the Gainesville Sun.